skip to Main Content

Editor's HostMonster Review

HostMonster has been around since 1996 and hosts millions of websites on their servers. Whether you are looking to host a single website or a bunch of sites, they have different levels of hosting plans that can accommodate your needs. In 2010, HostMonster and BlueHost were purchased by Endurance International Group. Throughout this HostMonster review, we will be taking an in-depth review of their features, services, uptime, reliability and pricing offered by HostMonster.

Features

In terms of the hosting features offered by HostMonster; you will have unlimited web storage (100 GB on the Starter plan), unmetered bandwidth and the ability to host an unlimited number of websites (except on the Starter plan). Additionally, when you sign up under the HostMonster contract, you will have access to a free domain name for the first year. After the first year, the domain name will be considered yours and you can move it to any domain registrar you’d prefer.

Support

When purchasing web hosting services from a hosting company, you should really think about the level of customer support you’re going to be receiving. With HostMonster, will be able to reach their technical, billing and sales support teams in a number of ways. Their technical support team is available 24 hours a day and seven days a week. They are also available through a ticket support system and live chat (sometimes takes longer than ticket system or phone).

Reliability

The uptime and reliability of servers is very important and downtime is one thing many clients cannot afford to have, especially if a website has a crucial monetary purpose to it. Business websites need to be online to make money and HostMonster has a the industry standard 99.9% uptime guarantee. Of course, servers have hardware and software that does need to be maintained so there will be some downtime. HostMonster uses the same datacenters as BlueHost and in 2013-2014 there were a few downtime periods that lasted several hours.

Pricing

The value for money of the hosting services offered by HostMonster is quite competitive. When you are getting unlimited space, bandwidth and no limit on the number of sites you can host on the Plus and Business Pro plans; it really gives you a high value. For someone who is looking to host a few websites that do not consume a ton of CPU usage, this could be a good solution. They put less accounts on their Business Pro plans for customers that require more resources.

HostMonster Features

  • Disk Space: Unlimited (except start plan)
  • Bandwidth: Unlimited
  • Add-on Domains: Unlimited (except start plan)
  • FTP Accounts: Unlimited
  • Control Panel: cPanel
  • Money Back Guarantee Period: 30 Days
  • 1-Click Script Installs: Yes
  • CGI, Ruby, Perl, PHP, MySQL
  • SSH Access (Secure Shell)
  • 99.9% Network Uptime Guarantee
  • Free Drag and Drop Site Builder
  • SimpleScripts 1-Click Script Installer (WordPress, Drupal, Joomla, 50+ More Scripts)
  • 24/7 Non-outsourced support
  • $200 in Advertising Credits
  • Free Domain Name

HostMonster Headquarters

Address: HostMonster
560 Timpanogos Pkwy
Orem, UT 84097

Phone: 866-573-4678

HostMonster Reviews

Read through our collection of user submitted reviews of HostMonster.
Share your HostMonster experience by submitting your review.

Read Through Our Popular Hosting Reviews

11 HostMonster Customer Reviews in our System as of 12/14/2018

Submitted on February 27th, 2013 by Naveen - Health Iproxs
Has Been With HostMonster For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Naveen's Review of HostMonster:

I have a small web designing firm and I am providing web design services. Thanks to  hostmonster.com for making my clients happy due to the 100% uptime. I never faced any problem with this company. They are perfect and recommendable.

Submitted on April 25th, 2012 by misu bossa - Planet Scripts
Has Been With HostMonster For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
misu bossa's Review of HostMonster:
I've been with hostmonster for a while now, 24hrs support, very fast response and I would recommend them to anyone. I was with other hosting companies during the years but this is one of the top hosting. I like what options they have in cPanel and in general. Regards, misu
Submitted on November 8th, 2011 by Brandon Smith - Lisa P Smith | Realtor
Has Been With HostMonster For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Brandon Smith's Review of HostMonster:
This is the only hosting company I have ever used and I cannot see myself moving anywhere else. I have experienced 100% up time, and their servers are extremely fast. The support is also the best in the industry. The "Live Chat" support team is extremely helpful and responsive and has been able to assist me with every issue I have ever had in the past. They are simply put a great company. Best part of all is that they are completely unlimited. I have had over 100 websites on my account at one time and experienced absolutely no downtime or slowdown in service at all. Simply the best!
Submitted on August 28th, 2011 by Mr Singh - NiftyExpert
Has Been With HostMonster For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Mr Singh's Review of HostMonster:
I've used hosting services by 3 different companies but HostMonster is the best. Most of my websites sell real services/products to end users, so I chose HostMonster which I think is the most reliable player in Market. I've been with them for 2 months but because of their impressive support, via - live chat & email, I purchased 2 years of hosting from them. Support is really cool be it pre-sales (pricing & setup) or resolution of technical issues. I faced a couple of core technical issues with PhpLd script, but they were fixed instantly. All I had to do is open the live chat window and type 2 sentences. Also I like lot of freebies which they provide to every hosting customer especially the SEO tools. Yes they don't have Fantascio easy script installer, but I find their SimpleScript installer easy to use.(Submit all details in a form and wordpress blog's created instantly) As a happy customer looking forward to stay with HM for long. Thks
Submitted on December 10th, 2010 by Tahir Jamil - Pakistan Web Design
Has Been With HostMonster For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Tahir Jamil's Review of HostMonster:
Being a web developer, I worked on HostMonster hosting once for one of my clients and found it very reliable and secure. They provide good platform for latest technology website solutions like complex e-commerce systems. I did not face any problems.
Submitted on December 4th, 2010 by Mamade - The Sirens Sound
Has Been With HostMonster For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Mamade's Review of HostMonster:

Hi all... I've been with Host Monster for over 3 years now. For the 1st two and half years HM was truly fun and an enjoyable journey but lately their standard has drop. Not in all areas though. I mean Host Monster still provides a very good customer service and live support.

But they really took a MASSIVE drop on their uptime. My web is suffering downtime at least once a week or once every fortnight over the past 3 to 4 months. My web was up and down for almost the whole day yesterday. Number of visitors dropped from 6000 + to under 2000 and page views dropped from 18000 to under 10 000. I really hope they get their act together and do something about it because it’s really a shame as they are extremely good in all other areas.

Submitted on October 23rd, 2010 by Joseph - Leather Icon
Has Been With HostMonster For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Joseph's Review of HostMonster:
I am using the web hosting of the company Hostmonster for one of my domains. I am satisfied with it.
Submitted on September 17th, 2010 by George - hospedagem barata
Has Been With HostMonster For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
George's Review of HostMonster:
I've tried to use other hosts, but couldn't find a better one. Hostmonster gives an excellent support, the price is very low and the uptime is great. If you can find a better host let me know, because i couldn't.
Submitted on September 16th, 2010 by Cosmin Constantinescu - 1950's fashion
Has Been With HostMonster For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Cosmin Constantinescu's Review of HostMonster:
I consider hostmonster one of the bests webhosting companies with affordable prices. They are very nice and helpful and you have many features to use in your account that make your work easier. What i don't like is sometimes their chat support is slow, but still their email support is always very fast.
Submitted on February 17th, 2010 by Paul Lewis - hospedagem de sites gratis
Has Been With HostMonster For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Paul Lewis's Review of HostMonster:
I have been experiencing problems with cpu throttling lately. Even though my site does not receive many visitors. I assume this is caused by another wordpress site i have hosted at the same shared account. I think HM could be better, but for the cheap price you can't expect to get it much more than this.
Submitted on November 24th, 2009 by Craig Parker - The Cabinet Folks
Has Been With HostMonster For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Craig Parker's Review of HostMonster:
Even without a special deal (we're paying the 5.95 a month) how do you beat such a price which includes knowledgeable support either in a chat room (very quick) or by phone (still pretty quick as far as I'm concerned) AND shell access AND php/mysql AND unlimited email addresses with a choice of IMAP or POP (or both at the same time if you'd rather)....

We're very happy with the service.  As we grow our other websites, we'll most likely be moving them from an in house server to hostmonster as well
Web hosting reviews submitted by users are not the opinion of CastIronHosting.com but of the customer who submitted their review. We are not liable for anything resulting from customers sharing their experiences or opinions on our site. We reserve the right to moderate all review submissions to determine if they are appropriate for posting. HostMonster representatives may respond to user reviews by contacting us.

Pin It on Pinterest

Back To Top
×Close search
Search