skip to Main Content

Editor's FatCow Review

FatCow Hosting has been around since 1998 and was one of the first hosting companies Endurance International Group (EIG) took over in 2005. FatCow offers unmetered shared web hosting, just like many of its competitors. Many people new to creating or managing websites, whether for businesses  or personal use, turn to FatCow for their web hosting needs. FatCow uses their own control panel called vDeck instead of cPanel, which some beginners might enjoy using, but for experienced webmasters this is a turn off right away.

Shared Hosting Features

As for the shared hosting features from FatCow, they offer one web hosting plan that offers unlimited disk space and storage. Additionally, FatCow offers additional options and features such as marketing credits, website building tools, domain management services and online eCommerce solutions. For those who want to run their own forum or blog, they have a script installer that you can use to install popular platforms on your account within minutes. FatCow has a 30-day money back guarantee period if you are not happy with their services.

Support Services

The level of support offered by a particular web hosting company is something that really needs to be considered by clients. If you are going to be giving a company your business, it is crucial that you are able to reach the customer support department in an acceptable amount of time. FatCow offers 24/7 phone, live chat and a ticket support system. With many EIG hosting companies, people often get tired of not being able to reach support departments. To avoid the possibility of long waits for non critical issues, submitting a support ticket is your best bet.

Reliability and Uptime

FatCow has two data centers located in the Boston, MA area that it shares with iPage, another EIG brand. They recently did some major upgrades to their servers and also have a pooled server setup for mirroring data. The front-end of the network includes double redundant routers and two firewalls. They have no uptime guarantee.

Value for Money

As for the pricing and value for money of FatCow hosting, they are quite competitive. When you take into account all the extra perks and bonuses you get from FatCow; hundreds of dollars in marketing credits, business listings, toll-free numbers and website security options. FatCow is currently running a promotion for $3.15/month, which includes one free domain for the first year.

FatCow Features

  • Disk Space: Unlimited
  • Bandwidth: Unlimited
  • Add-on Domains: Unlimited
  • MySQL Databases: Unlimited
  • FTP Accounts: Unlimited
  • Email Accounts: Unlimited
  • Control Panel: vDeck
  • SSH Access (Secure Shell): No
  • Money Back Guarantee Period: 30 Days
  • Single Click Script Installs: Yes
  • Green Hosting – Powered by 100% Wind Energy
  • 24×7 Phone, Chat and Email Support
  • Free Domain (1st Year)
  • Point & Click Site Building Tools
  • Online Store and Selling Tools
  • Free Advertising Credits
  • CGI, Perl, Python, PHP, MySQL
  • Daily Server Backups

FatCow Headquarters

Address: FatCow
70 Blanchard Road
Burlington, MA 01803

Phone: 866.544.9343

FatCow Reviews

Read through our collection of user submitted reviews of FatCow.
Share your FatCow experience by submitting your review.

30 FatCow Customer Reviews in our System as of 12/14/2018

Submitted on November 3rd, 2012 by Brent Ruban - Rubell Technologies
Has Been With FatCow For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Brent Ruban's Review of FatCow:
Fatcow delivers the best value for the best price. I've hosted 12 websites with them before and they have always been on top of problems that may occur. Phone calls get a 1-2 minute waiting time before they are answered, something godaddy or 1&1 could NEVER do in 1 million years. The control panel is a newer, nicer panel, vdeck4 instead of the usual cPanel.
Submitted on October 12th, 2012 by Rajat Kumar Biswal - Aplau
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Rajat Kumar Biswal's Review of FatCow:
I'm very much pleased with their tech support. They are so polite when replying and deal faster with any type of problems in hosting or malware issue. Once the server I hosted my website on was infected with some virus or malware. They fixed this problem rapidly within some hours. For server part, they run smoothly with good uptime. Their hosting is somehow a little different from other hosting service providers which I like most. Their hosting is also 100% Wind-Powered web hosting i.e. eco-friendly. I would recommend anyone to host with them. I do love their support for breast cancer.
Submitted on September 21st, 2012 by Matija Aurer - Funnysite
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Matija Aurer's Review of FatCow:

Fatcow is one of the best rated hosts but its features are not the best. Apart from uptime and support, I don't like their control panel and limited functions for shared hosting. The control panel is slow loading, but they seem to have upgraded the panel to a beta version which works quite good now. Recommend to everyone!

Submitted on September 14th, 2012 by Jm Lavois - matrix-formula
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Jm Lavois's Review of FatCow:

When the word Fat Cow was introduced to me, my response was a bit shocking.  Why? Because, I knew it was a mascot site or even site who sells cow. But when I visited it, it was a webhosting site. From there, I used them as my 1st webhost and I am satisfied with what they give me. Unlimited bandwidth was good and so was the unlimited domains to be hosted in my account. When I have problems installing my scripts, they always help me. They serve as my superhero! My problems were answered in as fast as 30 minutes. I’m happy with them because their customer service representatives were nice and friendly.  I would recommend them if you need a webhost which can maintain your site's uptime and configuration very well.

Submitted on August 31st, 2012 by Neil Dsouza - HostReviews.PRO
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Neil Dsouza's Review of FatCow:
Fatcow has the most easy to use Control panel. It's even easy for a beginner to manage their hosting accounts, to create MySQL databases, etc.. I love the feature it has to add Multiple Domains. The customer support is also very good, though sometimes you may find the Live Chat members rude as they directly disconnect the chat without saying thank you or waiting for you to reply, but the end point is the query is resolved.
Submitted on July 19th, 2012 by Bhawana - Small Business Corporation
Has Been With FatCow For: Three to Six Months
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Bhawana's Review of FatCow:

I've been using Fatcow web hosting for the last 3 months and I am very happy with their services. Their uptime guarantee is not fake and my websites have never gone offline. I am also very happy with the cheap web hosting plan.

Currently I have one account with Fatcow but I have to buy more accounts. My aim is to provide web hosting services in my country. At present, I am using shared hosting with this company.

Thank you Fatcow guys…best of luck on your future projects.

Submitted on June 30th, 2012 by Fenoul Lai - fxmoneyinc
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Fenoul Lai's Review of FatCow:
Fatcow is good overall.  Why? The support in this webhosting is very accommodating. They tend to give customers quality support and they are very knowledgeable in terms of website errors. Example errors are the warning on php deprecated function. Their uptime is also good. My website is online for 24/7. But, the thing I don't like about their webhosting is their control panel. It's very hard to navigate because the menus are far from each other. Furthermore, I will still recommend it because they will be helping you a lot on your webhosting problems.
Submitted on April 3rd, 2012 by Jaymin - Papasan Chair
Has Been With FatCow For: Three to Six Months
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Jaymin's Review of FatCow:
After a month of searching for a good web host I moved to Fatcow. I am little bit unsatisfied with support (Little late reply) and uptime (Found my site was down 2 times) otherwise it is worth the money. Fatcow also provides many offers. It has a very unique cpanel rather than ordinary cpanel of many hosts. Overall my rating of fatcow is 4.5.
Submitted on April 3rd, 2012 by Insaf - ToonPot.com
Has Been With FatCow For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Insaf's Review of FatCow:
Very good customer support. I had many problems, but all got fixed in just minutes, support team is customer friendly.
Submitted on March 18th, 2012 by Richy J - Plants Archive
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Richy J's Review of FatCow:
FatCow went above and beyond when they took care of all my sites. I was moving from another hosting company and everything from start to finish went incredibly smooth!
Submitted on March 14th, 2012 by Sol - Ultimate Tank
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Sol's Review of FatCow:
I bought a hosting account with a free domain from FatCow recently. The purchase is simple and straightforward. Remember to look for coupons since they offer good discounts with coupons. They use VDeck 4 control panel which works fine. cPanel users might take a little time to adjust but it seems to have most of the features. The best part is the freebies you get. A lot of ad credits and many trial offers which really add value for small websites just starting out. The only down side seems to be the support which seems to be ill informed. I rarely used it but the experience was below expected. Overall you can give it a shot since it is competitively priced.
Submitted on February 16th, 2012 by Prashant - Veax
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Prashant's Review of FatCow:

Although FatCow offers a single hosting plan, it’s a good buy (at least it was for me). I purchased its shared hosting plan about a couple of months ago. First, I got through their payment process quick and easy payment system. I’ve been using it for a couple of months now and I am more than satisfied with it. I was caught in a problem with their easy to use but new to me automatic script installing system but their support helped me to fix it. They don’t provide cPanel but their vDeck is as good as anything. Also, Fantastico de luxe is not provided and Simplescripts is provided which is fairly simple as well. I’ll rate their support as good because they solved everything I wanted in a few minutes (I used their live support feature). I never experienced any downtime with them so overall I’ll suggest their hosting and give them thumbs up.

Submitted on February 3rd, 2012 by Hefin Dsouza - BzForum
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Hefin Dsouza's Review of FatCow:
The Server is Fast and Reliable..

The Pricing of this Web Host is really good as per the plans...

I have the Multi Domain Hosting which is cheaper than what I would have to pay for individual plans..

The only thing I don't like is the WebMail features as it sends you to the FatCow webmail account and you need to login from there.

Usually others offer a custom Webmail like RoundCube , Horde etc...

So the only feature i am dissatisfied with is the Email features but not anything else...
Submitted on January 21st, 2012 by keng yao - glass-investments.com
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
keng yao's Review of FatCow:
Fatcow is a somewhat good host. Good uptime with topnotch support. But the problem is if you switch nameservers even using their private ip nameserver you could get still mysql errors.
Nevertheless the cost and uptime is good. Recommended for everyone
Submitted on December 18th, 2011 by Casey Ferrara - Los Fan Blog
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Casey Ferrara's Review of FatCow:
I was using Fat Cow for my website when I first started it and I didn't have a problem with them at all really. I actually even started off with them using a discount so I was very pleased with the deal. I was using them for a few weeks and rarely had problems. The uptime was good, support was great, and overall I liked them a lot. I found another host that fit my budget better.
Submitted on November 28th, 2011 by Preetish - FriendFier
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Preetish's Review of FatCow:
I've been a FatCow customer for almost one year. It is a better than average hosting provider. If you are just starting out in the web world, FatCow is for you. Their unlimited plan with a decent number of features will give you a sound idea of how things work. Support is not great...but, they will solve your issue at least within 24 hours. Yeah, they give some pretty nice offers to their existing customers. But, serious online business owners must choose a host with faster hosting solution provider.
Submitted on October 14th, 2011 by Matija Aurer - VideoCafe
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Matija Aurer's Review of FatCow:
I chose FatCow because it is reliable and has lots of options! It's UP every second so it's great! I have 5 websites on FatCow hosting! I'm really satisfied with this company!
Submitted on September 4th, 2011 by Siddharth - Download Via
Has Been With FatCow For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Siddharth's Review of FatCow:
It have been using Fatcow for more than 2 years. There support is excellent but the website sometimes loads slower than usual but I contacted customer care and have solved my problem. There support is online 24X7 so they are very quick with solutions. They provide a full feature Control panel with all necessary scripts. They give you advertisement credits which is worth the lowest price. The only Problem is that you don't get cPanel for their control panel. Except for that everything is fine with this hosting.
Submitted on August 27th, 2011 by Siva - HiSwat - Techno Blog
Has Been With FatCow For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Siva's Review of FatCow:
They are a good web hosting company. At times, I fast little connectivity issue as it is shared hosting. Other than that they are good. If there is any problem, then they usually resolve in less than 2 hours.
Submitted on August 20th, 2011 by Elan Karpinski - In Love Abroad
Has Been With FatCow For: Three to Six Months
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Elan Karpinski's Review of FatCow:
I have been very satisfied with FatCow hosting thus far.  My only problem, though, is that I feel my sites on their servers are slower than my previous sites hosted with other companies.  My current websites are small blogs without a lot of traffic, so the speed doesn't drive me too nuts.  Afterall, they are still fast--just not lightening fast!

The best part of FatCow hosting is their customer service.  When I had problems signing up, they immediately fixed my issue over the phone.  When I had a technical problem, they replied to my online inquiry within 24 hours and gave me detailed instructions that helped my fix my problem. 

Overall, I am satisfied with FatCow hosting.  Customer service is very important to me and they have really nailed that aspect of their business.
Submitted on August 3rd, 2011 by Sandeep - Preetish.me
Has Been With Fatcow For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Sandeep's Review of Fatcow:
I have been using Fatcow for the last year and I am very glad to state that they are very useful and worth the money. They provide you with 99.9% uptime and the price is also very affordable.They provide all latest scripts and software. I rate them 5 out of 5.
Submitted on July 6th, 2011 by Shankar - Thunder Cameras
Has Been With FatCow For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Shankar's Review of FatCow:
If you use a MySQL intense site then this host is not for you. They claim to have made it better but still there are so many times when the database cannot be reached. Static pages work fine but with blog and shopping sites, database is everything. Smaller entry level sites and admins can appreciate the easy to use site builder and interface though advanced users may find cPanel more comfortable!
Submitted on June 28th, 2011 by Sein Kalar - Plus Equals Minus
Has Been With FatCow For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Sein Kalar's Review of FatCow:
Initially I had an error when trying to change my domain and email accounts over to FatCow but it worked out and all is well now.
Submitted on June 21st, 2011 by Matija Aurer - Leenks.org
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Matija Aurer's Review of FatCow:
Hello! I've been using fatcow web hosting for the last 2 and half months. This is probably one of the best web hosts I have used so far, especially customer support is amazing. For me FatCow is 5/5. Thank you!
Submitted on June 14th, 2011 by Nicol - GamerzChute
Has Been With FatCow For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Nicol's Review of FatCow:
I'm going to review fatcow today. Their service is definitely excellent. As for their service, when their customers encounter any problems, they try their very best to help. For example, I encountered an error on their hosting on time and I received support using live chat, they helped me out for 10 minutes! All I can say is the level of commitment was high and the attitude towards customers was great. Their uptime was simply amazing. In about a year when my site was hosted under Fatcow, I only encountered 1 downtime and immediately recovered within 10 minutes. I was really pleased with their service. Well, you may think that the value of the hosting service is really expensive. But personally I think that good stuff is meant to be expensive, and you get what you paid for. Overall, I personally think that you would feel happy with your site hosted under Fatcow and would never ever disappoint you with their service. Overall Rating: 5/5
Submitted on October 23rd, 2010 by Kiran - Mobitechz
Has Been With Fatcow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Kiran's Review of Fatcow:
I am using 2 domains on the same account. I mainly use wordpress for my 2 sites. They don't have cron job option, so i need to rely on other external sources. Also my wordpress site loads very slow compared to other top hosts. I need to optimize heavily to get good load speed. Overall good experience with them.  Not the best :(
Submitted on June 17th, 2010 by Ashish - Sms on twitter
Has Been With FatCow For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Ashish's Review of FatCow:
Fatcow is one of the best rated hosts but i don't like it too much. Apart from uptime and features, I don't like their control panel. It's slow loading, but they seem to have upgraded the panel to a beta version which works quite good now.
Submitted on June 8th, 2010 by Kiran - Freaky videos
Has Been With Fatcow For: Three to Six Months
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Kiran's Review of Fatcow:
I totally happy with fatcow hosting. They are sister company of Ipage but they have better uptime than ipage.  Customer support and they will also help you in any  third party software support.
Submitted on May 5th, 2010 by KIran - We Indians
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
KIran's Review of FatCow:
I am using fatcow for one of my website. They have best friendly support for clients. They have good uptime with fast speed. I like the fatcow & like to stay with them forever.
Submitted on March 2nd, 2010 by Shiva Chettri - LinkSubmitz
Has Been With FatCow For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Shiva Chettri's Review of FatCow:
My honest review is that People should really avoid this host if you want to run any kind of web applications like Wordpress, Pligg etc. This host has quite a good uptime and good Customer Support but its main problem is it's features and it's Vdeck control Panel. Even though it provides a lot of advertising credits and a free domain and the price is also cheap, it is really not worth to buy a hosting with this host if you want to use any web application, a business website would do quite good in this host. I say again this Webhost is only good if you are going to host a company or a business website.
Web hosting reviews submitted by users are not the opinion of CastIronHosting.com but of the customer who submitted their review. We are not liable for anything resulting from customers sharing their experiences or opinions on our site. We reserve the right to moderate all review submissions to determine if they are appropriate for posting. FatCow representatives may respond to user reviews by contacting us.

Pin It on Pinterest

Back To Top
×Close search
Search