skip to Main Content
BlueHost Review

BlueHost Provides Shared, Virtual Private Server (VPS) and Dedicated Server Hosting Solutions.

Editor's BlueHost Review

BlueHost was established back in 1996 and today hosts over 2 million domains, employs well over five hundred workers and manages nearly five thousand servers. In 2010, Endurance International Group purchased BlueHost along with their sister hosting company HostMonster. Then in 2011, BlueHost’s founder Matt Heaton stepped down as CEO.

Web Hosting Features

BlueHost offers three different shared hosting plans that all include unmetered bandwidth. Their basic plan allows for hosting a single website, the plus plan allows for 10 websites, and their business pro plan allows for the ability to host an unlimited number of websites on a single hosting account. When you sign up for their minimum one year contract, you will also receive a one year domain registration for free. Many of the hosting features remain unmetered, which makes BlueHost suitable for most small to medium sized businesses, as well as those looking to host several personal websites. With the various free website scripts available from BlueHost, you would have no problem with starting your own blog, forum or online shopping site. Managing your websites is incredibly easy, as you get to work with cPanel, the most robust web hosting control panel around.

Support

You can get in touch with BlueHost support through phone or live chat. Response times through live chat have been taking longer in recent years which is something they need to work on. For important issues it is usually best to create a support ticket but that is no longer an available support channel, so your best option would be to give them a call.

Reliability

When choosing a web hosting company for your websites; it is crucial that you choose a company that can offer you the best reliability. BlueHost manages over five thousand Dell servers and uses an auto-routing system, which helps your website get through the fastest network if one network is down. BlueHost has an uptime guarantee of 99.9%, which is pretty much the standard today. All servers need to have some sort of maintenance done to them which will result in some downtime. BlueHost customers experienced a few lengthy downtime episodes in 2013 and 2014. Let’s hope that BlueHost and their owner EIG have a better uptime record for 2015 and beyond.

BlueHost Prices

BlueHost prices start at $3.49/month for a three year hosting plan with a free domain registration. They have an anytime money back guarantee. There is no setup fee or other hidden fees that are going to be added onto your final bill.

BlueHost Hosting Plans

BlueHost BasicBlueHost PlusBlueHost Business Pro
Normal Price Per Month:$7.99$10.99$23.99
Promo Price Per Month:$3.49$5.95$13.95
Disk Space:50 GB150 GBUnlimited
Domains Allowed:110Unlimited
Bandwidth:UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Sub Domains:2550Unlimited
Email Accounts:5100Unlimited
Dedicated IP Address:$3.99/month$3.99/monthIncluded Free
SSL Certificate:$49/year$49/yearIncluded Free
  • One Click Installs: Yes
  • Advertising Credits: $200
  • Control Panel: cPanel
  • SSH Access (Secure Shell): Yes
  • Money Back Guarantee Period: Anytime
  • Resource Protection
  • CGI, Ruby, Perl, PHP, MySQL
  • Free Site Builder
  • 99.9% Uptime Guarantee
  • 24×7 Support
BlueHost VPS Plans:StandardEnhancedPremiumUltimate
1st Month Promo Price:$14.99$29.99$44.99$59.99
Regular Monthly Price:$29.99$59.99$89.99$119.99
Disk Space:30GB60GB120GB240GB
Bandwidth:1TB2TB3TB4TB
CPU:1 Core2 Cores3 Cores4 Cores
RAM:2GB4GB6GB8GB
Managed:YesYesYesYes
Control Panel:cPanelcPanelcPanelcPanel
IP Address:1222
  • Unlimited Domains
  • Unlimited Sub-Domains
  • Unlimited Email Accounts
  • Unlimited MySQL Databases
  • Unlimited FTP Accounts
  • 24/7/365 Support
  • 64-Bit CentOS 6.4
  • Full Root Access
  • OpenStack & KVM Hypervisor Virtualization
  • cPanel and WHM
  • Guaranteed Server Resources
  • Anytime Money Back Guarantee
BlueHost Dedicated Servers:Standard Dedicated ServerEnhanced Dedicated ServerPremium Dedicated Server
1st Month Promo Price:$74.99$99.99$124.99
Regular Monthly Price:$149.99$199.99$249.99
Disk Space:500GB RAID-11,000GB RAID-11,000GB RAID-1
Bandwidth:5TB10TB15TB
CPU:2 x 2.0 GHz4 x 2.5 GHz4 x 3.3 GHz
RAM:4GB8GB16GB
Dedicated IP Addresses:345
  • Unlimited Domains
  • Unlimited Sub-Domains
  • Unlimited Email Accounts
  • Unlimited MySQL Databases
  • Unlimited FTP Accounts
  • cPanel with WHM
  • Managed
  • CentOS Linux with Full Root Access
  • 24/7/365 Support
  • Anytime Money Back Guarantee

BlueHost Headquarters

Address: Bluehost Inc.
560 Timpanogos Pkwy
Orem, UT 84097

Phone: 888-401-4678

BlueHost Reviews

Read through our collection of user submitted reviews of BlueHost.
Share your BlueHost experience by submitting your review.

BlueHost Average Customer Ratings

Overall Rating: 94.66%
Uptime: 93.33%
Reliability: 94.66%
Support: 94.66%
Features: 92%
Value: 90.66%

*Percentages are based on a scale of 1 to 5 star ratings.

Read Through Our Popular Hosting Reviews

15 BlueHost Customer Reviews in our System as of 12/14/2018

Submitted on July 15th, 2013 by Droidhub - Droidhub
Has Been With BlueHost For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Droidhub's Review of BlueHost:
I have been using bluehost for months and it looks like one of the best webhosting companies for me. Fast, cheap and super reliable. Never had any lagtime and I have a big wordpress blog with over 7,000 posts and it is super fast. The support is very helpful and for wordpress the hosting is super reliable.
Submitted on May 19th, 2013 by Widyan Fakhrul Arifin - Meja Baca
Has Been With BlueHost For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Widyan Fakhrul Arifin's Review of BlueHost:
Bluehost is the best hosting. I've been using them since 2011 and never had any troubles. I have a lot of sites on one account and I have a maximum traffic of more than 20.000/day and Bluehost still doesn't have any trouble. I recommended this hosting company because it's very strong like VPS Hosting. For $84 annually you can try this hosting. Bluehost has unlimited features like bandwidth, disk space, add ons and so on. Thanks.
Submitted on January 25th, 2013 by Stefan Zeulner - Internet Marketing Blog
Has Been With BlueHost For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Stefan Zeulner's Review of BlueHost:
I really like bluehost but there was one thing that was not so good and that is the support as I needed more of an explanation due to a file count excess problem, they were a little slow to help but all the rest is the best. I really like bluehost and will stay for more time with them. Thank you.
Submitted on January 10th, 2013 by Justin - Houses for Rent in Michigan
Has Been With BlueHost For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Justin's Review of BlueHost:
Great web hosting, never down and always fast. Highly recommended
Submitted on November 20th, 2012 by John Foerster - Best Web Hosting
Has Been With BlueHost For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
John Foerster's Review of BlueHost:
Over the last few years, we've hosted at least a dozen sites with Bluehost, and we've recommended Bluehost to a large number of our customers. Overall, our experience has been outstanding, and the same goes for those we've sent over to Bluehost. Our personal experience with Bluehost is reinforced by our broader, data-driven research. That's why we've chosen Bluehost as our top pick in our most recent hosting ratings. The things we like here: *Bluehost is one of the most popular hosting companies (about the third largest after GoDaddy and Hostgator). *We've experienced a great uptime record with sites on Bluehost. In fact, we find our websites on Bluehost are more reliable than the high traffic sites we've placed on the Rackspace cloud. While the Bluehost sites are admittedly smaller, Rackspace costs 20-30 times more. For the price difference, it's odd to feel like we have more problems and down time. *We like the interface. It's just the basic cpanel interface, but it's exceptionally simple to use. In our experience, hosting companies that develop their own backend interfaces (ie, GoDaddy) generally end up with something much more complicated and cumbersome. *We've received outstanding support. We generally use phone support, and we've always had someone answer within four rings. We've also had tech support on the line for as long as 30 minutes to solve a problem. *It's as inexpensive as pretty much of the shared hosting companies. So those are the pros. Of course, Bluehost is not the end all be all. It's a hosting company with a specific target. If you're not that target, then you should look else where. Specially, you should consider other alternatives if: *You have a high traffic or high bandwidth site or other advanced needs. If this is you, you'll either find your site very slow, or if you're site is large enough, Bluehost will close you down. This is similar to any shared hosting solution. *You publish explicit imagery. Bluehost has a well documented policy against explicit imagery even if the intent is truly artistic. *If you do host with Bluehost, you should ensure your site has good security. We have seen instances where hacked sites that consume large amounts of bandwidth are closed down. We wish Bluehost would give site owners more advanced warning and better chance to resolve such problems.
Submitted on July 20th, 2012 by Dean - One Thinking Person
Has Been With BlueHost For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Dean's Review of BlueHost:
I've been with them what seems like an eternity but only about 2 years. They are fast & reliable but their uptime is slightly ehhh..I mean there are at least a few downtimes each month but I don't mind as their support is freaking awesome.
Submitted on December 19th, 2011 by Casey Ferrara - Blue Humor
Has Been With BlueHost For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Casey Ferrara's Review of BlueHost:
BlueHost is a great web hosting company. They have what you need and make sure you are pleased with everything. Their support is amazing, really fast and answered every question I asked. I rarely had downtime with them, if I did it wasn't for long at all. Other than that I can't really think of anything else bad about them. Overall they were a great host and I would recommend them.
Submitted on October 13th, 2011 by Jaimin Thakkar - Wallpapers4Ever
Has Been With BlueHost For: One to Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Jaimin Thakkar's Review of BlueHost:
Hello friends, Here is my experience with bluehost. Before selecting hosting I was confuse between hostgator and bluehost but finally i chose bluehost because I got a discount and nice reviews about them. So overall $94 for 2 year is not bad. I had setup my wallpaper site which is 99.99% uptime and that's the great thing about bluehost. Another nice feature is their live customer and technical support. I am very happy with their service. But the one and only bad thing is that they have file count limit of 200000 in unlimited plan also :( and than i come to know when i reach near the limit so it's not good if you want to host any wallpaper site like me you cannot upload unlimited wallpapers. So overall 4/5 stars.
Submitted on September 5th, 2011 by Siddharth - Facts About India
Has Been With BlueHost For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Siddharth's Review of BlueHost:
I had recently created my site at bluehost. I have now been here for a week or so, and must say that I am pleased more than I ever hoped to have been. Their tech support has been amazing at helping to make sure everything is just perfect. My website runs without a hitch, the stats and features you offer are beyond value, especially for the price you charge. Their cpanel is so easy to use and they have simple scripts which is really good for people who don't know a lot about technical stuff. I just wanted to take a moment to thank bluehost and make sure bluehost is aware of the great work your staff is doing. I will be hosting my site with bluehost for many years to come. And will be recommending it to others.
Submitted on October 26th, 2010 by Suvo - BollyWood Blitz
Has Been With BlueHost For: Three to Six Months
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Suvo's Review of BlueHost:
I've been with blue host for last six months. I'm very happy with their service. They offer many things that other companies don't offer at that price. Their support is extremely good. Once i had a copyright issue and they helped me to solve the dispute with the owner. I want to recommend them to others. Go for It :)
Submitted on October 24th, 2010 by Joseph - JCsDesignz
Has Been With BlueHost For: Three to Six Months
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Joseph's Review of BlueHost:
I been using Bluehost for around five months and i am very much satisfied with its support and reliability.
Submitted on June 29th, 2010 by Shain - Formula De Negocios
Has Been With BlueHost For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Shain's Review of BlueHost:
Well I've had a good experience with Blue Host. It is very secured and supportive as well. Thanks Blue Host
Submitted on June 28th, 2010 by Johnny Fu - Loft bunk bed
Has Been With BlueHost For: Three Months or Less
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Johnny Fu's Review of BlueHost:
I just purchased bluehost web hosting a few weeks ago, I have another web hosting - godaddy before bluehost. Godaddy doesn't have live chat for shared web hosting, and it will take 24 hours to set up DNS or domains or database. So i really like bluehost's live chat, they are professional, answered all my questions in time. Well, the simplescript is another service what i like. But the free google adwords coupon i can't use, even i can't see the code because i'm not from US. What i disappointed about bluehost don't support wildcard DNS subdomain.
Submitted on June 27th, 2010 by zhangyu - leifengni
Has Been With BlueHost For: Six Months to a Year
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
zhangyu's Review of BlueHost:
Fast and stable.surface is ugly.Support reply is too slow
Submitted on April 2nd, 2010 by Sandy Jeff - layoutlair
Has Been With BlueHost For: More than Two Years
Overall Rating: Support:
Uptime: Features:
Reliability: Value:
Sandy Jeff's Review of BlueHost:
I've been with bluehost for 2 years going 3 years. What makes me a loyal customer to them is because if their 24/7 great customer support. When i have a issue, i will just open up the live support chat in their website, and my answer would be resolve as soon as possible. Their uptime is simply marvelous! Instead of being like other webhosting companies that mention they provide 99.9% uptime and did not really keep their word, Bluehost did it! If you sign up you will receive some adwords and yahoo ads credit for free, that is awesome when i first started to build my website.
Web hosting reviews submitted by users are not the opinion of CastIronHosting.com but of the customer who submitted their review. We are not liable for anything resulting from customers sharing their experiences or opinions on our site. We reserve the right to moderate all review submissions to determine if they are appropriate for posting. BlueHost representatives may respond to user reviews by contacting us.
// CONTINUED COMMENT OUT
Help everyone out by sharing a personal experience you've had with a web hosting company.
What did you like and/or what didn't you like? Do you recommend this web host?

Please fill out the form below to submit your web hosting review.

Select Web Hosting Company:
Your Name:
Your Email (Kept Private):
Your Website's URL With The Web Host:
Your Website's Name:
Time With This Web Host:
Overall Rating:
Uptime:
Reliability:
Support:
Features:
Value:
Please Write a Detailed Review in The Section Below. The More, The Better!
// CONTINUED COMMENT OUT